Le Grand Colbert (2nd)

Today we paid a visit to Le Grand Colbert for dinner. This was definitely not on my culinary radar, but my wife wanted to eat here because the restaurant comes out in a scene in the movie “Something’s Gotta Give” featuring Diane Keaton and Jack Nicholson. I went in with low expectations, since this is a very touristy restaurant, but had a surprisingly good meal here. The space is old-school grand bistro inside and the menu is a greatest hits of bistro classics. To start my wife ordered the onion soup gratinée and I got the foie gras terrine. The onion soup was spot on with a dark rich broth. My terrine was excellent. The portion was very generous. For mains my wife ordered the 1/2 roast chicken (the same one Diane Keaton mentions in the movie) and I ordered the blanquette de veau (veal stew). The chicken was cooked perfectly and was served with a light chicken jus and French fries. My blanquette de veau was delicious with a generous portion of tender braised veal, Morel mushroom, pearl onions, carrots and nice gravy. I also received a side of rice pilaf to go with my stew. For dessert we ordered the profiteroles and the crepes Suzette. The chocolate sauce for the profiteroles was poured tableside by our server (probably a little too much). Our server also finished the crepes tableside. Both desserts were good. To drink we shared a half bottle of Chablis. Overall a very good meal in a beautiful restaurant.
imageimageimageimage
Onion soup gratinée

image
Foie gras terrine

imageimage
Roast chicken with French fries

imageimage
Blanquette de veau with rice pilaf

image
Profiteroles with lots of chocolate sauce

image
Crepes Suzette

Leave a Reply

