Soup a l’oignon

I’ve been battling a cold since yesterday, so I decided to make onion soup for dinner.  I made a quick chicken broth with Maggi bouillon, then I caramelized some yellow onions in a seperate pan.  The key to this soup is to cook the onions until they are well browned.  Once the onions were browned, I deglazed them with some white wine, then added them to the chicken broth.  While the soup simmered I toasted some baguette slices in a little bit of butter.  I served the onion soup with a couple of the toasted baguette slices topped with Emmental cheese.  imageimageimageimageimage

Leave a Reply

